introduction

The Human and Machine Intelligence group is a new interdisciplinary research group funded under the Humanities Informatics Lab The focus is on aspects of informatics that relate to knowledge, representation, learning, interpretation, and understanding. These concepts are being reshaped by progress in artificial intelligence, machine learning, data science, neuroscience, and associated disciplines. The forum fosters interactions between the humanities and these areas to produce mutually beneficial links between the two. The group emphasizes both research and educational activities at the faculty and student levels.

schedule

fall 2019 and spring 2020     previous semesters schedules

All meetings unless otherwise noted will be on Wednesdays 12:15 – 1:30 in Wilson 142

date participants / speaker topic
Wed 4 Sept Raf Alvarado
(UVA Data Science Institute)
[slides] Presentation on The Age of Surveillance Capitalism.
Short article (Access needs UVA Library Login)
Joint session with the HIL Surveillance Group
Wed 11 Sept Robin Hanson (Economics, George Mason University and Oxford Future of Humanity Institute) [slides]Where Does Automation Win, in the Short And Very Long Run?
Wed 18 Sept Greg Wheeler
(Professor of Philosophy and Computer Science, Frankfurt School of Finance and Management, Director Centre for Human and Machine Intelligence)
Prolegomenon to Machine Epistemology
Wed 25 Sept Juan Carlos Caicedo
(Broad Institute, Cambridge Mass)
Visual Recognition for Quantitative Biology
Wed Oct 2  Zac Irving (Philosophy)  TBD
Wed Oct 9  Haifeng Xu (Computer Science, UVA) The Complex Roles of Information in Strategic Interactions
Wed Oct 9 (CS special lecture)

10:30 a.m. Rice Hall 242

Nicholas Weaver
Researcher, ICSI
Lecturer, CS, UC Berkeley
Reflecting on Internet Surveillance and Control
Wed Oct 16  Deborah Hellman (Law, UVA) Algorithmic Fairness
Friday Oct 25 3:30, Gibson Room, Cocke Hall Cameron Buckner
(Philosophy, University of Houston)
Representation in Deep Neural Nets
Wed 30 Oct
Wed Nov 6
Wed Nov 13
Wed Nov 20
Wed Nov 27 No meeting, Thanksgiving
Friday Dec 6 HMI conference
Wed Jan 15
Wed Jan 22
Wed Jan 29  Natasha Foutz
(UVA Commerce School)
 Applications of Machine Learning to Marketing Big Data.
Wed Feb 5
Wed Feb 12 John Basl
(Philosophy, Northeastern University)
Computer Ethics
Wed Feb 19
Wed Feb 26
Wed Mar 4 Sarah Brayne
(Sociology, UT Texas)
Criminal Justice and Big Data
Wed Mar 11 No meeting, Spring Break
Wed Mar 18
Wed Mar 25
Thu Apr 2 – Sat Apr 4 Humanities Informatics Lab Showcase, Wilson 142
Wed Apr 8
Wed Apr 15

people

Core Faculty

  • Paul Humphreys (Co-Director) [website]
  • Vicente Ordóñez Román (Co-Director) [website]
  • Rafael Alvarado (Data Science Institute) [website]
  • Jack Chen (East Asian Languages, Literatures and Cultures) [website]

Associated Faculty

  • Kevin Driscoll (Media Studies) [website]
  • Brie Gertler (Philosophy) [website]
  • Fiona Greenland (Sociology) [website]
  • Zac Irving (Philosophy) [website]
  • Anton Korinek (Economics) [website]
  • Chip Levy (Neuroscience) [website]
  • Worthy Martin (Computer Science, IATH) [website]
  • Dan Spitzner (Statistics) [website]

Graduate Students

  • Nazim Adakli (Philosophy) [website]
  • Faraz Dadgostari (Systems Engineering)
  • Derek Lam (Philosophy) [website]
  • Andrei Marasoiu (Philosophy) [website]
  • Peter Tan (Philosophy) [website]
  • Tianlu (Evelyn) Wang (Computer Science) [website]
  • Ahmed Aly (Electrical and Computer Engineering)