schedule

spring 2019   fall 2018     spring & summer 2018      fall 2017

NEW MEETING TIME AND LOCATION FOR SPRING 2019 — This semster, HMI meetings will be held on Mondays, from 1:15pm – 2:30pm  in Wilson 117.

date participants / speaker topic
 Mon 28-Jan  Jordan Rodu (Statistics) Towards Understanding Long Short Term memory Networks [slides]
 Mon 4-Feb  Anton Korinek (Economics/Darden) The Rise of Artificially Intelligent Agents [slides]
 Mon 11-Feb  Group discussion Proposed European Union ethics guidelines for AI
 Mon 18-Feb  Homa Alemzadeh
(Electrical Eng / CS)
Cognitive Assistant Systems for Healthcare
 Mon 25-Feb  No Meeting   No Meeting
 Mon 4-Mar   No Meeting   No Meeting
 Mon 18-Mar  Michael Albert
(Darden / SysEng / CS)
 Machine Learning and Market Design [slides]
 Mon 25-Mar  Mohammad Mahmoody
(Computer Science)
 How far can robust classification go? [slides]
 Mon 1-Apr  Vicente Ordonez
(Computer Science)
Compositionality and Fairness in Computer Vision [slides]
 Mon 8-Apr  David Forsyth
(Computer Science, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign)
The Materials Objects are Fashioned From
Important: Talk is at 2:15pm in the Rotunda Dome.
 Mon 15-Apr  No Meeting  No Meeting
 Mon 22-Apr  Lu Feng
(CS / SysEng / Link Lab)
 Trust on Autonomous Driving
 Mon 29-Apr